Well folks, another year, another Logic project.

Maryland rapper Logic returns with Everybody, his third studio album and maybe his last album. It seems that Logic wanted to make here a very important and relevant album with Everybody. I think the thing I liked the most about this album was how each song was focused and had a distinct, clear purpose, whether it was battling his inner demons of anxiety or his race or the political state of America. Sonically, I also thought it was a continuation of the consistently solid production we’re used to seeing on a Logic album, thanks to CRIMINALLY underrated producer 6ix. The main theme of this album is revolving around his mixed race. Numerous times, he reminds his audience that he is in fact of mixed race (half-white and half-black), and although the idea of a racially mixed rapper with a story to tell seems interesting, the concept seems to be there yet very unfinished from him. Anyways, on to the review.

1. Hallelujah

I enjoy the soulfulness to it. This seems to be the “Ultralight Beam” of Everybody. Logic seems to be the one of best out of the “rappers who try to sing in the song” (good example: Drake, bad example: Kendrick Lamar). This is very movie like, kind of like if Logic decides to compose the song for Google’s end of the year video reviews on YouTube. I enjoyed the skit at the end of the song, I also like how Neil deGrasse Tyson is God (however I hoped Morgan Freeman could be there as well!) A very nice intro song overall!

2. Everybody

On the album’s second track, titled “Everybody,” Now one of the standout lines in the song is when he raps “Everybody talkin’ bout race this, race that/I wish I could erase that, face facts.” It stands out to not only me but a few– including Matt Wilhite of Fansided who says:

On the album’s second track, titled “Everybody,” Logic’s second verse spends its entirety discussing the irony of being the product of both sides of slavery, and its one of the few points on the album that his lyrics feel focused and specific. However, the verse is subsequently undercut by its own finish when Logic raps, “Everybody talkin’ bout race this, race that/I wish I could erase that, face facts.” It’s a strange thing to watch a rapper undermine his own abilities in the course of 30 seconds, but this is a problem that reoccurs time and time again on Everybody.

-Matt Wilhite
This song also sounds very Kendrick-esque, I’m feeling a Black Boy Fly meets Alright vibe, but that is just me.

3. Confess ft. Killer Mike

More Gospel like chunes from Bobby Tarintino himself. This is Ye’s Highlights meets Chance’s All Night, I can definitely see this play out in a club on a Sunday. I get the message, however I don’t think that a message can be played out with a beat like this. I still like the song however. The thing that I do like is Killer Mike talking his shit and MOTHERFUCKING PREACHING. The tone of his voice is freaking tough, it reminds me of Malcolm X’s part on Ye’s Who Will Survive in America. This is Hardball with Killer Mike.

4. Killing Spree” ft. Ansel Elgort

Alright, off the rip this sounds like a cut off of DROGAS Light. I think Logic is rapping about modern culture role in the pains in life. I do like the hashtag pray for this, pray for that/ but you ain’t doing shit, get away from that” line, that is one of my pet peeves regarding society and social media. I never knew Augustus Waters from The Fault in Our Stars could sing, the more you know!

5. Take it Back

I don’t like the song all that much however at the end of “Take It Back,” Logic spends a solid two to three minutes explaining the song’s concept back to the audience in relation to his upbringing in Maryland with a major plot twist being that his white mother is racist but gave birth to a biracial son. I really like this explanation piece quite a bit however the final line, “Stop killing each other.”, was a tad bit cringe.

6. America ft. Black Thought, Chuck D, Big Lenbo & No I.D.

Off jump, I never thought I would see Black Thought and Chuck D on a track with Logic, no one never would of imagine that. “America,” The hook/chorus is classic Logic corniness however. A very solid filler track with a great message.

7. Ink Blot ft. Juicy J

Singing Logic is back and with a nice mellow beat to hang with too! I really enjoyed this back and forth rapping from Logic and MR. SLOB ON MY KNOB…. Juicy J. That 30 second rant that Juicy put out was possibly one of the funniest in song rants I’ve heard in quite sometime.

8. Mos Definitely

It seems like in this song, the concepts of race and discrimination in America are barely mentioned, even though Logic clearly stated prior to the release that this album will be about his problems as a biracial male in modern society. This reminds me a watered down version of Kendrick’s Alright, very uplifting toward self love of skin color and race.

9. Waiting Room

Back to the skits! In this skit, God (deGrasse Tyson) explains to our bewildered friend Atom about rebirth, or reincarnation. God explains how the reincarnation process goes about and the past life forms Atom was. Atom also asks why we are placed on Earth, which God replies “to grow and mature.” A good skit over all!

10. 1-800-273-8255 ft. Alessia Cara and Khalid

I really enjoy the production so far in this album, and this beat seems to be my favorite. A very mellow, relaxed, solemn beat if you will. HOWEVER I HATE THE “WHO CAN RELATE” AD LIB, IT FUCKING SUCKS. The message is very clear and if you guys do not know the title is the number for the National Suicide Hotline (and I urge you if you guys are in a situation in which this is your only way towards happiness, DO NOT HESITATE TO CALL BECAUSE PEOPLE DO LOVE YOU!) The song itself is incredibly smooth, heartfelt, and it might be the first song about suicide that has potential to play on radio. Alessia Cara (who I am infatuated with haha) killed it and also Khalid (who I never heard) did really well, very well! A great song overall.

11. Anziety ft. Lucy Rose

I really like this nice mellow theme in terms of production when it comes to most of the songs in Everybody. I fell in love with Lucy’s vocals ever since I heard her slay it in The Incredible True Story (TITS) . I have to tip off my hat to Logic for putting a song about acceptance despite mental health after a song about suicide. Similar to Take it Back, Logic gives us a short narrative about his accident with anxiety.

12. Black Spiderman ft. Damian Lemar Hudson

I have to say this song is one of the happiest songs I’ve heard in quite sometime. This is very Chance like, especially with the use of the choir. I love the message, just pure positive vibes, self love for your ethnicity, and all that feel good stuff! Damian killed it too with his soulful ending to the song. The only bad part about the song happened to be the skit, killed the vibe immediately even though I wouldn’t mind a black Spiderman and a black Santa Claus too!

13. AfricAryan ft. Neil deGrasse Tyson

Well we hit the final song! If you guys don’t remember, this is the snippet from Studio Ambience at Night: Malibu in which 6ix couldn’t play! Logic speaks the truth in this song about how he has Aryan in his blood and how he seems to live as a biracial person. “Damn, my skin fair, but life’s not”, a great line. The girl singing and the soulful sax seems to be icing on the cake. Plot twist: this could be the final album. PLOT TWIST: YOUR FAVORITE NORTH CAROLINA HOMELESS SAGE LOOKALIKE IS FEATURED TOO! Cole sounds like he’s just tired of it all, could it be true about what he said on Jermaine’s Interlude. I like the subtle name drop that Cole said about Logic. A great way to end this album.


Like Logic, my opinions on the album on mixed (I’M SORRY I COULD NOT KEEP IT IN ME ANY LONGER!). This album doesn’t have too much skits like TITS but you still have to step back into reality with the skits in this album. Everybody is a honest album, and Logic’s honesty is by far one of the best traits the project offers. Logic has explained topics of race, mental health, suicide and more in a fantastic way and we should commend him for that. The one thing that killed it for me is that it was a bit too preachy at some points. By this point, I was hoping that Logic could of found his voice/style but in Everybody, he is almost there. Not too shabby, not too shabby indeed.

Anyways, Benjy here and this is Day 1 of HYPE WEEK (Don’t ask me why I’m starting HYPE WEEK on a Tuesday, its my blog and the Pats won the Super Bowl, I do what I want), every day I’ll be posting something new! If you guys wanna recommend something, leave a comment down below. Benjy signing out!

ROBOT

